Sausage pasta Recipe

IMG_0747

Now, I am not a fan of pasta. However my children adore it so I do find myself often making a pasta dish for them.

I choose to make it this evening as I had sausages and some passata sauce to use by today.

This is actually my first time incorporating sausages with pasta. I usually serve it with salmon, chicken or just vegetables.

As this isn’t a dish I can pass comment on, you will have to take the word of my 5 year old daughter who asked for a 2nd portion and that of my 16 month old, who gobbled the dish up and didn’t throw any on the floor! (Mr.S didn’t have time to eat it before work this evening, but I’m sure he’ll like it)

High praise indeed.

You may think that I add too many flavours, but I do like to try and incorporate as many vegetables and salad items as I can to try and give my children their 5 a day of fruit and vegetables.

This dish was enough to serve both my children and the Mr with enough left over for a 2nd helping for both the children if needed or kept for lunch the next day.

Ingredients

4 Sausages (I used apple and pork but any will do)
200g of Fusilli Pasta ( or any you prefer)
100g plum tomato’s
1/4 large red onion
1 Pepper
2 cloves of garlic
Handful of Basil Leaves
200g Passata Sauce

Method

1 – Pierce the sausages and place on a tray in the over for 20 – 25 minutes at 180 fan assisted oven.

2 – Add water to a pan and boil. Whilst waiting for this to boil, chop the onions and peppers and add to the pan ready to sauté in a few minutes.

3 – The pan should have boiled now, add some salt to the water and pour in the pasta and follow cooking instructions on the pack. (Generally pasta take between 12-15 minutes)

4 – Chop the tomato’s, garlic and basil leaves and turn the pan off with the peppers and onions.

5 – You can now sauté the onions and peppers, remembering to keep stirring them.

6 – The sausages should be ready to take out of the oven now and you should also drain the pasta and leave in the colander for now.

7 – Chop the sausages up.

8 – Add the passata to the pan with the garlic and bring quickly to the boil, then reduce the heat and add the tomato’s and basil leaves, stirring until everything is coated.

9 – Add the pasta to the pan, along with the sausages and onion and peppers and stir.

You are now ready to serve.

IMG_0748

As I said before I haven’t actually tasted this. But I think it is a great family dish as it includes lots of fresh food and goes towards the all important 5 a day with the pepper, tomato’s, onions, garlic and the passata sauce.

This took around 30 minutes to cook and prepare and as you can see, it’s very simple with no tricky techniques involved.

I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

