Bruschetta Recipe

IMG_0741 IMG_0740

Bruschetta has to be in my top 5 foods of choice.

It is more of a starter or light lunch, but I have no problem making it my main meal. I usually get a bout of hunger not long after, but it’s just so tasty!

I was actually only introduced to this around 4 years ago. I feel it is a travesty that I missed out on it for so long.

So today I made this for our lunch but I also use it as a starter on occasions, usually when we have a salmon dish. I feel it compliments it really well.

Now, as I mentioned in my other recipe post for Cajun Salmon Nicoise Salad I like to make sure I cook nutritional meals for my family but I also base my cooking on not wasting what ingredients we already have in the house. I’m not a happy Mummy if I have to throw food out. Luckily this is a rarity.

So with all of the ingredients I am using for this, bar the Ciabatta I will use the leftovers for a pasta dish I am cooking this evening.

It’s a cheap and easy recipe which is great if you want to eat healthy and are on a budget.

Ingredients.

150g-200g of small tomato’s (Cherry/vine etc)
A handful of fresh basil leaves
1/4 of a large red onion
2 Ciabatta rolls.
Olive oil to season
Salt and Pepper to season

Method

1 – Finely chop the onion, basil and tomato and place in a bowl.
2 – Drizzle Olive oil over the mixture and season with salt and pepper to taste.
3 – Cut the Ciabatta rolls in half and lightly toast on both sides under the grill.
4 – Spoon the Bruschetta mixture on top of the toasted Ciabatta and serve.

Tip

This can get quite messy, even I sometimes find my mixture falling off the Ciabatta, so if you are serving young children, serve their mixture in a bowl and Ciabatta separately.
For my youngest, I served her Bruschetta mixture before adding any salt as she is only 16 months and I also scooped out the doughy bit of Ciabatta so it was easier for her to chew.

IMG_0742

There you have it, a very simple dish to prepare which takes about 10 minutes altogether and you can feel great about all the nutrients you are getting from the tomato’s.
4 Simple ingredients to create a very tasty dish.

Leave a Reply

